Today is the day

 

Today, a poem:

 

pity me

i dare you.

look upon me

see my soul

bared, stripped,

free.

once damaged eyes

survey beauty where

once lay

desolation.

adoration of times past

serves all but

I.

a view over our shoulder –

rosey,

jaded,

untrue.

shameful in your shamelessness.

your subjective keyhole

eyes see things

polarised.

end over end over end –

this spinning must cease.

back and forth,

around and around,

for what?

forever undoable, that

tragic day:

for you – shackles.

for me – wings.

those blinded, blinkered, blackened

souls you carry,

still chest deep in

grief,

forever unknowing

of my joy.

Leave a Reply

