Gallery

2014 Reading List

 This year I really need to get on with some SERIOUS reading. Since having the children I’ve quite obviously had less time to indulge in this pastime, which I actually hate quite a lot. I used to read ALL the time, no matter where I was or what else was going on, I just had to have a book in my hand. Even now I still feel wrong without a book somewhere within 3 feet of my person.
With this in mind I’ve been through my book shelves and picked out a selection that I MUST  try to read in the next 12 months. I figure if I’m going to try and write a book of my own, the best place to start is by reading some gooooood shit and get a feel for the awesome stuff. I’ll attempt to read swiftly, which is not easy in my house, being a single mother of 3, as they say – 2 actual children, one full grown man. lol
 In no particular order, this is my list for 2014
The Scent of Death – Andrew Taylor (currently reading)
Song of Ice and Fire – George RR Martin 0007447862; 0007466061; 0007466078 (have read as far as A Feast for Crows, need to read the remaining volumes)
Birdsong – Sebastian Faulks (re-read)
God Is A Bullet – Boston Teran (re-read)
From the Corner of his Eye – Dean Koontz 0747266808 (re-read)
Atonement – Ian McEwan
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time – Mark Haddon
To Kill A Mockingbird – Harper Lee (we read this in school, but it’s good enough to look at again)
Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck
Dark Tower series; The Shining; The Stand – Stephen King
His Dark Materials – Philip Pullman (re-read) 1407106427
Life of Pi – Yann Martel
Wolf Hall; Bring Up The Bodies – Hilary Mantel 0007509775; 0007315093
 1Q84 vol 1, 2, 3 – Haruki Murakami
Neuromancer – William Gibson (re-read)
The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafon (re-read)
On The Beach – Nevil Shute (re-read)
I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings – Maya Angelou 0860685111
Grail Quest Trilogy – Bernard Cornwell 0007310302; 0007310319; 0007310326
Tess of the d’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy
Cross Stitch – Diana Gabaldon
Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn
Kissing The Hag – Emma Restall Orr
Journey to the Dark Goddess – Jane Meredith
Lamp Of The Goddess – Rae Beth
Invoking the Morrigan – Stephanie Woodfield
 
Various Tarot titles
The Real Witch’s Year – Kate West
(will upload ISBNs later today and/or link to amazon)
This list is not exhaustive. At over 30 titles I will need to be a super-reader to get this done. Once read, I will attempt a short review of each.
By far the best title I read in the previous year – Jane Eyre: Charlotte Bronte. If you have read this already, you know how good it is, if not then you’re missing out and should get your nose into a copy as soon as you can. Gorgeous story, wonderful writing style, simply exquisite.
Leave a Reply

